20 Things Every 20 Something Woman Should Have

  1. A really great pair of black heels – These are your power pumps. Mine happen to be patent leather L.B.’s I worked my butt off for in high school until I could afford them. I slide these things on and feel like I can conquer the world.
  2. Your favorite bottle of wine – I have never been much of a wine drinker. Oddly enough I find more pleasure in a dark beer, however, there is something about cooking a fabulous dinner and enjoying it along with your favorite wine. I have cheap taste when it comes to wine and won’t drink anything other than a cheap white zinfandel.
  3. Clinque Chubby Stick – I cannot tell you how many times I have gone through one of these little miracles. It’s the perfect mix of lipstick, lipgloss and chapstick. I feel completely naked without mine.
  4. Fabulous Hair – I’m one of those girls who spends most of her time in a pony tail, but there is something about having my hair done that just makes me feel beautiful. My go to look is a sock bun. It’s quick, easy, glamorous and one way for me to avoid my clip in extensions.
  5. Some extra long clip in hair extensions – I live and breath hair extensions. I honestly don’t know how I survived without these things. My hair is shoulder length and no one has any idea because of my extensions. Watch on youtube the proper way to use them. Always buy Remy virgin hair but don’t spend more for them at Sallys, find a local beauty supply.
  6. A good book – I don’t care what type of book it is but just have one. There is something so relaxing about curling up in bed after a long day with an amazing book.
  7. Time for a bubble bath - Once a week indulge in a long, steamy bubble bath. If your water doesn’t get hot enough, then add a partner. It’s much more fun to play in the bubbles with a guy.
  8. A sense of humor – We young women take ourselves way to seriously. It’s important that we have the ability to laugh at ourselves and have a good time. I happen to be fluent in sarcasm so my group of friends is always ready for one jab or another.
  9. A sexy bra – Surprisingly, this is my bra I wear when I’m running errands or lounging around my house. Something about looking like a mess but having on great lingerie makes me feel sexy even when I should feel like yesterdays coffee.
  10. An amazing (and strictly platonic) best guy friend – This is my bro bible. We have been best friends since freshman year of high school and I can literally tell him anything. He is my boyfriend bible, I go to him with all my questions and whenever I need help. Guys like this are hard to come by. We’ve been really lucky to have always had a completely platonic relationship on both sides. He is the brother I have never had and I couldn’t be more lucky.
  11. A supportive group of girl friends – To often do I see girls becoming friends with girls who just tear them down. Your girl friends should support, love and care for you. Don’t hang around with ladies who are only going to bring you down.
  12. A Lilly dress – I have been a Lilly Pulitzer fanatic since I was a little girl, so I have more than a few. I highly suggest every young woman own one. This is your easter dress, your church dress and the perfect dress for meeting his parents. My Lilly is what I wear when I need to pretend I’m on vacation in the Hamptons. Even if it’s not your style, just buy one. This is the dress you wear when you just need to escape.
  13. Your signature scent –  I happen to be one of those girls who can never stick to one perfume for very long, but I always feel under dressed if I don’t have some kind of scent on my skin. Whether you have one signature scent or one hundred, a woman is never fully dressed without her smile – and favorite bottle of Chanel.
  14. One delicious dish – Some women are more gifted in the kitchen than others. I once had to teach one of my college roommates how to wash a pot, we’re not all brought up in a southern lifestyle where you start in the kitchen at age five. However, every girl should know how to cook at least one thing, and one thing well. Whether its a taco salad or roasted duck, pick it then learn it then serve it. At some point in your life or another, you’re going to need it.
  15. A beautiful (and preferably expensive) bag – My poor Ralph Lauren is at about its last lap. The strap is bound to snap any second. This bad has seen me through years and years of service. I can’t even begin to explain my attachment to the dang thing. It has almost become a friend (hello, welcome to crazy town). Every woman should have a favorite bag. It’s your reliable little friend.
  16. A beautiful pearl necklace – No, not the perverted kind. My pearl necklace never leaves my neck, and while I don’t suggest you attach to yours like I have mine, it really is a great accessory.
  17. A favorite restaurant (or three) – I’m not entirely sure how to explain why this is important, but it just is. Just find one and you’ll understand.
  18. A dog – I’m sorry to disappoint all the cat lovers out there, but there is nothing like the affection and love that is that of a dog’s. Your relationship with your dog is like all the perks of therapy at half the cost. I highly suggest that if you don’t have a furry friend you invest in one a.s.a.p. I ALWAYS adopt. Did I mention they’re a great way to pick up guys??
  19. A room they love – Your bedroom is your little slice of paradise. Decorate it and make it your own. Heck, it doesn’t even have to be your bedroom. Just have some room where you feel at absolute bliss. I have spent months redecorating my bedroom to make it my very own Home and Garden dream.
  20. A really great guy – I know this isn’t a make or break, but I’m throwing it in here because I can without a doubt say that my boyfriend makes my life so much better. Just make sure you wait for the right guy. You should be with someone because you love the someone not because you need a someone.Image

Leave a Reply

